Uncategorized

My One-Year(ish) Anniversary

It took me literally a year and a half to figure out where this picture was taken, until I suddenly realized one day it's Barrie Street. From one of the many souvenir booklets of Kingston - I can't remember which one, but if/when I find it I'll add a link here.

It took me literally a year and a half to figure out where this picture was taken, until I suddenly realized one day it’s Barrie Street. From one of the many circa 1900 souvenir booklets of Kingston – I can’t remember which one, but if/when I find it I’ll add a link here.

I was going to do a post on the Prince Edward County town of Demorestville this week, but after a few long shifts at work and some procrastination I found myself behind schedule. Then I thought about doing a quickie post on the time W.B. Yeats gave a poetry reading at Queen’s, but there wasn’t much to talk about there (though I’ll probably do a short post on it one day). Then I remembered, hey, it’s my one-year(ish) anniversary of having this blog! And I had always planned to write something for this momentous occasion.

I started this blog because I had been reading tons of local history books and collecting images and information, and I wanted a place to sort everything out and, essentially, allow myself to remember what I had learned. I created it in late April 2014 but didn’t make my first post till May, which is why it’s a one-year(ish) anniversary. I haven’t tried to promote this blog very much – I’ve learned that local history is by definition a niche topic that people will either take or leave. It’s been my experience that when you tell people you’re interested in local history, the reaction is underwhelming (or nonexistent…), with typical reactions ranging from “Hmm” to “Oh” or simply changing the subject. That’s okay – not everyone can be a history nerd! – but while it can be disappointing, it’s also allowed me to focus and develop something I really enjoy doing without feeling the pressure of an immediate audience, if you know what I mean.

That said, I am very very grateful for the people who do read what I write and have told me they enjoy it and think I’m doing a good job. Thank you! I would also like to say that I’m always open to suggestions for topics to write about or ways I can improve. I have a few thoughts for going forward, like maybe museum/historic site reviews and one or two op-ed style articles I’d like to write. I’m also thinking of getting back on social media, but I’ve rather enjoyed a Twitter-free life recently so this is speculative.

However, I have to warn again: in addition to work I’m taking a post-degree course this summer from May-July, so posting here will probably be every two weeks instead of every week. But I’ll be around and I’ll try my best to post as often as I can.

Thank you again for supporting this blog throughout the past year!

Standard

2 thoughts on “My One-Year(ish) Anniversary

  1. cadeauca says:

    Congrats on your one year-ish anniversary! I can’t think of ways for your blog to improve; your posts are always so wonderfully in-depth. I’d love to read some site reviews though!

Leave a Reply

